Teddy Pendergrass Dies at 59

If you’re Black and over the age of 40, you know who Teddy Pendergrass was.  If not, all I can say to explain him is that after I bought my very first non-kiddie stereo, a state-of-the art compact turntable with a cassette deck–bought it with my first-ever paycheck the summer after college, when I made  $4.00 per hour–I ran to Strawberries record shop to buy the new Teddy Pendergrass album.  There’s a duet on it with Whitney Houston.  It’s a super-corny old school-style duet, but just listening to Teddy made me feel like a woman as much as seeing my name on a paycheck for the very first time.  Teddy, you’ll always stay with me, stay with me….

3 thoughts on “Teddy Pendergrass Dies at 59

Leave a Reply

