Uncategorized

Dec. 19, 2016

As this craptastic year draws to a close, I mourn the loss of two family members as well as the shared public figure losses.  And the country as we know it–with all its flaws but also moments when one could be proud of being a fellow citizen–will most likely end with the pens of the few signing away the next four years.  May whatever greater spirits we believe in help us get through it.

I try to focus on blessings.  The two brothers I grew up playing with and I have reconnected.  I met my tiny grandniece for the first time.  My little bro is a grandfather x 3!

Somehow I managed to publish the second issues of my presses’ anthology and literary journal.  My own first collection of microfictions has also seen the light.  My oldest and dearest friends are astoundingly good to me.

Yes, it has been an horrendous year.  I won’t miss it.  But one must grasp onto whatever life rafts are available or sink.  I’m past chapter 80 of Moby-Dick and won’t jinx with specifics; however, it’s safe to predict that I will finish the first draft of my Moby-inspired poetry collection in 2017 or die trying.  With six years invested in the project so far, that’s huge for me!

Happier, saner, safer New Year to all!

Leave a comment